Seventeenth Lok Sabha
Members Bioprofile
Mahto, Shri Baidyanath Prasad
Constituency   : Valmiki Nagar (Bihar)
Party Name     : Janata Dal (United)(JD(U))

Father's Name Shri Shankar Prasad
Mother's Name Smt. Jhalahi Devi
Date of Birth 02 Jun 1947
Place of Birth Vill. Pakaria, Distt. West Champaran (Bihar)
Marital Status Married
Date of Marriage 02 Jun 1970
Spouse's Name Smt. Sudama Devi
No. of Sons 3
No.of Daughters 1
Educated at H.S. Bathanaha, West Champaran,Bihar
Profession Agriculturist
Permanent Address
Pakaria Tola, Bahorapur,
P.O. Manjharia, P.S. Jagdishpur,
Distt. West Champaran, Bihar
Tels. (06254) 241625, 225646
9431212725, 09013997042 (M)
Present Address
50, Ashok Road,
New Delhi-110001
09013997042, 9431212725 (M)
Positions Held
2000-2009 Member, Bihar Legislative Council (three terms)
Nov.2005-Apr.2008 Union Minister of State, Rural Development, Govt. of Bihar
2009 Elected to 15th Lok Sabha
31 Aug. 2009 Member, Committee on Chemicals and Fertilizers
23 Sep. 2009 Member, Committee on Papers Laid on the Table
May, 2019 Re-elected to 17th Lok Sabha (2nd term)
13 Sept. 2019 - 28 Feb. 2020 Member, Standing Committee on Rural Development
Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Steel
28 Feb. 2020 Expired

Books Published
In Hindi `Kahin Dhoop Kahin Chhaya`
Literary, Artistic & Scientific Accomplishments
Staging dramas among public to remove social evils
Social And Cultural Activities
Mobilized people against the crime and criminals in Bettiah and strived to maintain law and order in the West Champaran District defeating the criminal designs; and encouraged children to participate in co-curricular and cultural activities apart from their studies.
Special Interests
Playing Harmonium, classical songs, playing benzo and flute, training drama groups and their presentation
Favourite Pastime and Recreation
Playing Harmonium, reading newspapers and magazines and studying books on parliamentary affairs.
Sports and Clubs
Volley Ball
Other Information
Branch Manager, National Co-operative Bank, Bettiah (Bihar),

Developed and Hosted by National Informatics Centre (NIC)
Content on this website is published, managed & maintained by Software Unit, Computer (HW & SW) Management. Branch, Lok Sabha Secretariat