Thirteenth Lok Sabha
Members Bioprofile
Sayeed, Shri P.M.
Constituency   : Lakshadweep -ST (Lakshadweep)
Party Name     : Indian National Congress (INC)
Email Address : sayeedpm[AT]sansad[DOT]nic[DOT]in

Father's Name Late Shri A.B. Atta Koya Thangal
Mother's Name Smt. Umma Bi
Date of Birth 10 May 1941
Place of Birth Androth Island (Lakshadweep)
Marital Status Married
Date of Marriage 04 Jan 1967
Spouse's Name Smt. A.B. Rahmath Sayeed
No. of Sons 1
No.of Daughters 7
B.Com., LL.B.
Educated at Government Arts College, Mangalore (Karnataka) and Sidhartha College of Law, Bombay (Maharashtra)
Profession Advocate
Social Worker
Permanent Address
Padannatha House Androth,
Lakshadweep- 682551
Present Address
3, G.R.G. Road,
New Delhi - 110001
(011) 23792358
Positions Held
1967 Elected to 4th Lok Sabha
1967-71 Member, Committee on Public Undertakings
1968-69 Member, Joint Committee on Contract Labour (Regulation and Abolition), Bill, 1967
1969-70 General-Secretary, All India Youth Congress
1971 Re-elected to 5th Lok Sabha (2nd term)
1971-72 Member, Committee on Petitions
1971-74 Member, Joint Committee on Salaries and Allowances of Members of Parliament
1972-73 Member, Joint Committee on Companies (Amendment) Bill, 1972
1972-75 Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Communications
1973 Member, Joint Committee on Constitution (Thirty-Second Amendment) Bill, 1973 on Amendment in Ninth Schedule of the Constitution
1973-74 Treasurer, Parliamentary Forum for Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes
1974-76 Member, Committee on Government Assurance
1976-77 Member, Consultative Committee constituted under Tamil Nadu State Legislature (Delegation of Powers) Act, 1976
1977 Re-elected to 6th Lok Sabha (3rd term)
1977-79 Member, Committee on Government Assurances
1979-80 Union Minister of State, Steel, Coal and Mines
1980 onwards Member, Lakshadweep Territorial Congress Committee
1980 Re-elected to 7th Lok Sabha (4th term)
1984 Re-elected to 8th Lok Sabha (5th term)
1984-86 Member, Joint Committee on Shipping Agents (Licensing), Bill
1984-88 Member, Committee on Estimates
1985-86 Member, Joint Committee on Offices of Profit
1986 onwards Member, All India Congress Committee (Indira)[A.I.C.C.(I)]
1989 Re-elected to 9th Lok Sabha (6th term)
1990-91 Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Communications
1990-91 Member, Joint Committee on Offices of Profit
1990-96 Member, Rules Committee
1991 Re-elected to 10th Lok Sabha (7th term)
1991-92 Member, General Purposes Committee
Member, Panel of Chairmen
1991-93 Member, Joint Committee on the Constitution (Seventy-Second Amendment) Bill, 1991
Secretary, Congress Parliamentary Party (Indira)[C.P.P.(I)]
1991-95 Member, Committee on Official Language
1992-93 Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Surface Transport
1992-94 Member, Joint Parliamentary Committee to Enquire into Irregularities in Securities and Banking Transactions
1993-95 Union Minister of State, Home Affairs
1995-96 Union Minister of State, Information and Broadcasting
1996 Re-elected to 11th Lok Sabha (8th term)
1996 onwards Deputy Chief-Whip, Congress Parliamentary Party
1996-97 Member, Panel of Chairmen
1996-97 Member, Committee on Transport and Tourism
1998 Re-elected to 12th Lok Sabha (9th term)
17 Dec. 1998-99 Deputy Speaker, Lok Sabha
Chairman, Committee on Provision of Computers to Members of Parliament
Chairman, Committee on Private Members`Bills and Resolutions
Chairman, Committee on Budget of Lok Sabha
Chairman, Library Committee
Member, General Purposes Committee
Member, Business Advisory Committee
Member, Committee on Home Affairs
Member, Committee on Transport and Tourism
1999 Re-elected to 13th Lok Sabha (10th term)
27 Oct.1999- 6 Feb. 2004 Deputy Speaker, Lok Sabha (Second term)
24 Dec. 1999 - 2004 Member, Congress Working Committee
Chairman, Library Committee
Member, General Purposes Committee
Chairman, Committee on Private Members` Bills and Resolutions

Literary, Artistic & Scientific Accomplishments
Knows eight languages, viz. English, Hindi, Urdu, Malayalam, Kannada, Tamil, Tulu and Beary Basa
Social And Cultural Activities
Associated with various social and cultural activities of Lakshadweep; instrumental in conducting inter -state cultural programmes, Lakshadweep festivals in various places and promoting folk arts Parichakkali, Kolkali and Lava dances, etc
Special Interests
Social Work, labour welfare, upliftment of the poor, the downtrodden and the people belonging to minorities;
Favourite Pastime and Recreation
Reading, music, public service and computer network
Sports and Clubs
Football, badminton and chess
Countries Visited
Widely travelled (30 countries); Member, Indian Delegation to the 24th Session, UN General Assembly, 1969; and 36th Session, UN General Assembly, 1982; represented India at U.N. Special Session on Minicoy Islands 1977; Leader, Goodwill Delegation to erstwhile G.D.R., 1970; Member (i) Indian Parliamentary Delegation to 59th I.P.U. Conference, Paris, 1971; Lome (Togo), 1985; Moscow (former U.S.S.R.), 1988; and to 100th I.P.U. Conference, Moscow, 1998 (ii) International Solidarity Conference of World Peace Council, Basel, Switzerland, 1979; (iii) Government of India Haj Delegation, 1988 and its Leader, 1993; (iv) Indian Delegation to Non-aligned Youth Conference, Algiers; and represented A.I.C.C. (I) to Baghdad on the occasion of Silver Jubilee Celebrations of Arab Baath Socialist Party; Indian Delegation to SAARC Speakers and Parliamentarians Conference, Pakistan and India-China Friendship Society Delegation to China; Led the Indian Parliamentary Delegation to the 3rd International Forum for Parliamentarians and Local Authorities: Tourism Policy Makers in the 21st Century, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, May 2000
Other Information
Chairman, Advisory Board, Non-aligned Congress of Youth; Member (i) Central Haj Committee, 1968-70; (ii) Central Haj Advisory Board, 1970-71; (iii) National Welfare of Seafares Board, 1974-77; (iv) Island Development Authority, 1984-88; and (v) Court, Jamia Millia Islamia, since 1990

Developed and Hosted by National Informatics Centre (NIC)
Content on this website is published, managed & maintained by Software Unit, Computer (HW & SW) Management. Branch, Lok Sabha Secretariat