Fourteenth Lok Sabha
Members Bioprofile
Chandrappan, Shri C.K.
Constituency   : Trichur (Kerala)
Party Name     : Communist Party of India (CPI)

Father's Name Shri C.K. Kumara Panicker
Mother's Name Smt. Ammu Kutty Amma
Date of Birth 10 Nov 1935
Place of Birth Vayalar, Distt. Alappuzha (Kerala)
Marital Status Married
Date of Marriage 28 Oct 1978
Spouse's Name Smt. Bulu Roychowdhury
Educated at University College, Trivandrum
Profession Social Worker
Permanent Address
Heera Kinara, H6, 7th Floor, Kesavadasapuram,
Pattom, P.O. Trivandrum (Kerala)
(0471) 2558665,
9447058665 (M)
Present Address
101-103, South Avenue,
New Delhi - 110 011
Tels. (011) 23795042, 9868180508 (M)
Positions Held
1971-1977 Elected to 5th Lok Sabha
1977-1979 Re-elected to 6th Lok Sabha (2nd term)
1991-1996 Member, Kerala Legislative Assembly
2004 Re-elected to 14th Lok Sabha (3rd term)
Member, Committee on Home Affairs
Member, Committee on Empowerment of Women
Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Human Resource Development
5 August 2006-onwards Member, Committee on Commerce
5 Aug. 2007 onwards Member, Committee on Commerce

Special Interests
Youth & Students movement in India and abroad; agrarian economy and peasant movement in India, its past and present; environment problems and environment movement; tourism, its economic significance
Favourite Pastime and Recreation
Reading travelling
Countries Visited
Widely travelled; Visited Vietnam and Bangladesh in Parliamentary delegation headed by the Speaker, Shri G.S. Dhillon.
Other Information
Chairman, Kerala Tourism Development Corporation (KTDC), 1987-91 & 1996-2001; Chairman-cum-Managing Director, Prabhath Book House, Trivandrum; Attended the World Youth Festival in Sofia, Bulgaria; Attended the Congresses of Communist Party of Soviet Union (CPSU) Communist Party of Portugal and Communist Party of Bulgaria; Attended the World Food Summit held in Rome; Member, (i) Central Executive Committee of the CPI; (ii) National Council of CPI; (iii) Court of Jawahar Lal Nehru University, Delhi, and (iv) Coconut Development Board; Was President and General Secretary of the All India Students Federation (AISF) and All India Youth Fedration (AIYF); President, All India Kisan Sabha (AIKS)

Developed and Hosted by National Informatics Centre (NIC)
Content on this website is published, managed & maintained by Software Unit, Computer (HW & SW) Management. Branch, Lok Sabha Secretariat