Fourteenth Lok Sabha
Members Bioprofile

1980 Elected to 7th Lok Sabha
1980-81 Secretary, Indian Youth Congress
1985 Re-elected to 8th Lok Sabha (2nd term)
1985-88 Joint Secretary, Indian National Congress
1991 Re-elected to 10th Lok Sabha (3rd term)
1991-95 Secretary, Congress Parliamentary Party
1993-95 Chairman, Committee on Public Undertakings
1995-96 Minister of State in the Ministries of Rural Areas and Employment (Department of Rural Employment and Poverty Alleviation) and Parliamentary Affairs
1998 Re-elected to 12th Lok Sabha (4th term)
1998-99 Member, Committee on Energy and its Sub-Committees on Power; and on Action Taken Reports; also Convenor, Sub-Committee-II on Coal
Member, Committee on Public Undertakings
Member, Committee on Private Members’ Bills and Resolutions
Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Urban Affairs and Employment
1999-2004 Re-elected to 13th Lok Sabha (5th term)
Member, Standing Committee on Transport and Tourism
Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Railways
Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Finance
2003-05 Secretary, Congress Parliamentary Party
2004 Re-elected to 14th Lok Sabha( 6th term)
23 May 2004 Union Minister of State (Independent Charge), Ministry of New and Renewable Energy
2009 Re-elected to 15th Lok Sabha (7th erm)
31 Aug. 2009 Chairman, Committee on Food, Consumer Affairs and Public Distribution
Sep. 2009 Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Civil Aviation
19 Oct. 2009 Member, General Purposes Committee
Dec. 2009 Member, Consultative Committee, Minister of Urban Development
Aug. 2010 Member, India-Bangladesh Parliamentary Friendship Group
9 Jun. 2013 Member, House Committee

Developed and Hosted by National Informatics Centre (NIC)
Content on this website is published, managed & maintained by Software Unit, Computer (HW & SW) Management. Branch, Lok Sabha Secretariat