Fourteenth Lok Sabha
Members Bioprofile

1957-1990 and 1993-96 Member, Rajasthan Legislative Assembly (eight terms)
1980-1990 Cabinet Minister,Government of Rajasthan for ten years (incharge of Panchayati Raj, Rural Development, Forest and Environment, Public Health Engineering Department, Irrigation, Transport, Co-operatives, Excise, Under-ground Water, Soldiers` Welfare, Deptts. etc.)
1960-95 Member, Pradesh Congress Committee (P.C.C.), Rajasthan
Member, Executive Committee, P.C.C., Rajasthan
Chairman, Kisan Cell, P.C.C., Rajasthan
Treasurer, P.C.C., Rajasthan
Member, Pradesh Congress Election Committee
Member, Executive, Congress Legislative Party, Rajasthan Legislative Assembly
Member, All India Congress Committee (A.I.C.C.)
1996 Elected to 11th Lok Sabha
1996-1997 Union Minister of State, Chemicals and Fertilizers (Independent Charge)
1997-1998 Union Minister of State, Water Resources (Independent Charge)
1998 Re-elected to 12th Lok Sabha (2nd term)
1998-99 Member, Committee on Commerce and its Sub-Committee on Textiles
Member, Joint Committee on Salaries and Allowances of Members of Parliament
Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Defence
1999 Re-elected to 13th Lok Sabha (3rd term)
1999-2004 Member, Committee on Petitions
Member, Committee on Members of Parliament Local Area Development (MPLADs) Scheme
Member, Committee on Food, Civil Supplies and Public Distribution
2004 Re-elected to 14th Lok Sabha( 4th term)
23 May 2004-27 Nov. 2004 Union Cabinet Minister, Labour and Employment
27 Nov. 2004 - 22 May 2009 Union Cabinet Minister, Mines
2009 Re-elected to 15th Lok Sabha (5th term)
31 Aug. 2009 Member, Committee on Human Resource Development
17 Jun. 2013 Union Cabinet Minister, Labour and Employment
15 Dec. 2013 Died on 15 December 2013

Developed and Hosted by National Informatics Centre (NIC)
Content on this website is published, managed & maintained by Software Unit, Computer (HW & SW) Management. Branch, Lok Sabha Secretariat