Fourteenth Lok Sabha
Members Bioprofile
Pandey, Dr. Laxminarayan
Constituency   : Mandsour (Madhya Pradesh)
Party Name     : Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)
Email Address : pandeyln[AT]sansad[DOT]nic[DOT]in

Father's Name Shri Jamnalalji Pandey
Mother's Name Smt. Kanchan Bai
Date of Birth 28 Mar 1928
Place of Birth Sujapur, Tehsil Jaora, Distt. Ratlam (Madhya Pradesh)
Marital Status Married
Date of Marriage 01 Mar 1950
Spouse's Name Smt. Chandrawali Pandey
No. of Sons 3
No.of Daughters 4
M.A. (Hindi), Diploma in Surgery and Eye (Specialist, Eye, Dental, CTS, DE) Ayurvedacharya, Sahitya Ratna and Kavyatirtha, Shiksha Visharad
Educated at Government College, Jaora, Ayurvedic University, Jhansi Vidyapeeth, Udaipur and Maharana Ayurvedic College, Udaipur (Rajasthan)
Profession Medical Practitioner
Agriculturist, Educationist, Social Worker
Permanent Address
15, Purana Hospital Road, Jaora,
Distt. Ratlam ( Madhya Pradesh)
(07414) 220245, 220524
Present Address
1, Ferozeshah Road,
New Delhi - 110 001
Tels. (011) 23782143, 23782289, 9868180248(M)
Positions Held
1953-62 Member, Municipal Committee, Jaora
1962-64 Member, Public Accounts Committee, Madhya Pradesh Legislative Assembly
1962-67 Member, Madhya Pradesh Legislative Assembly
1963-67 Whip, Bharatiya Jana Sangh (B.J.S.) Legislature Party, Madhya Pradesh Legislative Assembly
Member, Planning Advisory Committee, Madhya Pradesh Legislative Assembly
Member, Advisory Committee on Labour, Madhya Pradesh Legislative Assembly
1971 Elected to 5th Lok Sabha
1972-73 Member, Committee on Public Accounts
1972-78 General-Secretary, B.J.S., Madhya Pradesh
1974-75 Member, Rules Committee
Member, Delimitation Commission for Parliamentary and Assembly Constituencies
Convenor, Second Parliamentary Sub-Committee on Official Language
1975-76 Whip, B.J.S. Parliamentary Party, Lok Sabha
1977 Re-elected to 6th Lok Sabha (2nd term)
1978-79 General-Secretary, Janata Party
Chairman, House Committee
Member, Committee on Public Accounts
Member, Committee on Petitions
1989 Re-elected to 9th Lok Sabha (3rd term)
1989-91 Whip, B.J.P. Parliamentary Party, Lok Sabha
1991 Re-elected to 10th Lok Sabha (4th term)
1991-92 Member, Business Advisory Committee
1991-93 Member, General Purposes Committee
1991-95 Chief Whip, B.J.P. Parliamentary Party, Lok Sabha
1992-94 Chairman, Committee on Government Assurances
Member, Committee on Defence
Member, Committee on Agriculture
Member, Committee on Food
Member, Hindi Advisory Committee
1993 President, B.J.P., Madhya Pradesh
1996 Re-elected to 11th Lok Sabha (5th term)
1996-97 Member, Consultative Committee on Petroleum and Chemicals, Ministry of Petroleum and Natural Gas
1998 Re-elected to 12th Lok Sabha (6th term)
General-Secretary, B.J.P. Parliamentary Party, Lok Sabha
1998-99 Member, Panel of Chairmen
Member, General Purposes Committee
Member, Committee on Railways
Member, Committee on Official Language
Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Chemicals and Fertilizers
1999 Re-elected to 13th Lok Sabha (7th term)
Member, Panel of Chairmen
1999-2000 Chairman, Committee on Defence
1999-2004 Member, General Purposes Committee
2000-2004 Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Petroleum and Natural Gas
2002 Member, Committee on Rural Development
2003-2004 Member, Committee on Commerce
Member, Committee on Defence
2004 Re-elected to 14 Lok Sabha( 8th term)
Member, Panel of Chairmen
Chairman, Committee on External Affairs
Member, General Purposes Committee
Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Communications
Convenor, 2nd Sub Committee on Official Language Committee
5 Aug. 2007 onwards Chairman, Standing Committee on External Affairs

Books Published
(i) Gaban-Ek Adhyayan; (ii) Pradakshina Sahayak (iii) Char Ekankisahayak; and (iv) Lekh Mala all in Hindi
Literary, Artistic & Scientific Accomplishments
Wrote several articles on different topics
Social And Cultural Activities
Associated with several educational and social organisations as Chairman and Member
Special Interests
Favourite Pastime and Recreation
Indian games, Kabaddi etc.
Sports and Clubs
Basketball and volleyball; Member, Lions Club
Countries Visited
Widely travelled (23 countries); Member, (i) Indian Parliamentary Delegation to 10th C.P.A. Conference, Harare, 1990; (ii) Indian Parliamentary Delegation to Romania, Bulgaria, China, Japan, Indonesia, Phillippines, Thailand, Singapore, Hong Kong, Nepal and Bhutan; (iii) led the Parliamentary Delegation to the Seventh World Hindi Conference; and (iv) led Committee on Finance to Australia and New Zealand to study problems of farmers; visited Czech Republic as member of Parliamentary Delegation
Other Information
Participated in the Freedom Struggle and Goa Liberation Movement; imprisoned for participation in farmers’ and workers’ movement and also for 19 months during Emergency; President, (i) Central Cooperative Bank, Ratlam, 1977-80; (ii) Land Development Bank, Ratlam, 1977-80; and (iii) Geeta Bhawan Trust, Jaora, Distt. Ratlam; Chairman, (i ) Madhya Pradesh Parliamantary Cell, 2003-2004; and (ii) Venu Gopal Girls Higher Secondary School; Vice-President, Bharatiya Mazdoor Sangh, 1963-64; Vice-Chairman,( i) Committee on Official Language 2000-2004; and (ii) Institute of Constitutional and Parliamentary Studies, 1974-75; Convenor and Leader, First Committee of Raj Bhasha Samiti; Member, (i) District Advisory Committee, Ratlam; (ii) Senate, Vikram University, Ujjain, 1964-67; and (iii) Western Railways Guards Council, 1973-74

Developed and Hosted by National Informatics Centre (NIC)
Content on this website is published, managed & maintained by Software Unit, Computer (HW & SW) Management. Branch, Lok Sabha Secretariat