Fourteenth Lok Sabha
Members Bioprofile

Elected to 8th Lok Sabha
1985 Member, Indian Parliamentary Group
1986-89 and 1996-98 Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of External Affairs
1990-92 and 1996-99 General-Secretary, All India Congress Committee (A.I.C.C.)
1990-2000 and 2002-04 Member, Congress Working Committee (C.W.C.)
1996 Re-elected to 11th Lok Sabha (2nd term)
1996-98 Member, Public Accounts Committee
1998-99 Member, Joint committee on the Empowerment of Women and its Sub-Committee on Education and Health Programmes for Women
Member, Committee on Home Affairs and its Sub-Committee on Personnel policy of Central Para- Military Forces (CPMFs)
1998 Re-elected to 12th Lok Sabha (3rd term)
1998-99 Member, Standing Committee on Food & Consumer Affairs
Member, Standing Committee on Environment and Forest
2004 Re-elected to 14th Lok Sabha (4th term)
2004-2009 Union Cabinet Minister, Social Justice and Empowerment
Union Cabinet Minister, Water Resources
President, Executive Committee, Indian Parliamentary Group
Member, Inter-Parliamentary Union
2009 Re-elected to 15th Lok Sabha (5th term)
3 June 2009 - 3 June 2014 Speaker, Lok Sabha
23 September 2009 Chairperson, Rules Committee
2010 Chairperson, Standing Committee, CSPOC

Developed and Hosted by National Informatics Centre (NIC)
Content on this website is published, managed & maintained by Software Unit, Computer (HW & SW) Management. Branch, Lok Sabha Secretariat