Fourteenth Lok Sabha
Members Bioprofile
Patil, Smt. Suryakanta
Constituency   : Hingoli (Maharashtra)
Party Name     : Nationalist Congress Party (NCP)
Email Address : suryakanta[DOT]patil[AT]sansad[DOT]nic[DOT]in

Father's Name Late Shri Jayawantrao Patil
Date of Birth 15 Aug 1948
Place of Birth Umerkhed, Distt. Yeotmal (Maharashtra)
Marital Status Married
Date of Marriage 02 Jan 1966
Spouse's Name Shri R. B. Maske
No. of Sons 1
No.of Daughters 1
Profession Agriculturist
Social Worker, Journalist, Trade Unionist
Permanent Address
`Priyadarshini`, Kailashnagar, Nanded,
Distt. Nanded-431 605 (Maharashtra)
Tels. (02462) 251111
Fax: (02462) 253111
Present Address
5 & 7, Mahadev Road,
New Delhi-110 001
Tels. (011) 23359542, 23359574 (R), 23782063, 23782211, 23010895, 23011824, 23034638 (O)
Fax: (011) 23359542, 23359574 (R), 23782328 (O)
Positions Held
1971 onwards President, District Congress Committee (D.C.C.) (Women`s Wing), Nanded
1972-74 General-Secretary, Distt. Youth Congress, Nanded
1974-82 Member, Municipal Council, Nanded
Chairperson, Education Committee, Municipal Council, Nanded
1977-78 Founder-Member, D.C.C. (Indira), Nanded
1980-85 Member, Maharashtra Legislative Assembly
1981-82 Chairperson, Committee on Subordinate Legislation, Maharashtra Legislative Assembly
1981-85 General-Secretary, Pradesh Youth Congress (I), Maharashtra
1986-91 Member, Rajya Sabha
1988-89 Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Petroleum and Chemicals
Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Environment and Forests
1988-90 Member, Committee on Rules, Rajya Sabha
1991 Elected to 10th Lok Sabha
1991-96 Executive Member, Congress Parliamentary Party (Indira)
1997-98 Vice-President, Pradesh Congress Committee (I), Maharashtra
1998 Re-elected to 12th Lok Sabha (2nd term)
1998-99 Member, Committee on Defence and its Sub-Committees
Member, Joint Committee on the Empowerment of Women and its Sub-Committee on Appraisal of Laws relating to Women-Criminal Laws
Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Tourism
2000-2002 Vice-President, Nationalist Congress Party, Maharashtra
2002 onwards Member, Central Working Committee, NCP
2004 Re-elected to 14th Lok Sabha (3rd term)
May 2004 onwards Union Minister of State, Rural Development & Parliamentary Affairs

Literary, Artistic & Scientific Accomplishments
Editor, Godawari Times- a Marathi daily , 1976-92; Owner, Jagrati Mudranalaya, Nanded
Special Interests
Solving the problems of women; labour movements; rural development and upliftment of the poor and the downtrodden, agricultrue
Favourite Pastime and Recreation
Reading, listening to music, enjoying nature and tourism
Sports and Clubs
Swimming, shooting and table tennis
Countries Visited
China, Egypt, Germany, Guatemala, Japan, New Zealand, Nicaragua, U.A.E., U.K. and .U.S.A.
Other Information
Took initiative in building women`s labour union; imprisoned thrice during the Janata regime and appeared before the Shah Commission; President, District Journalists Association (associated with Akhil Bharatiya Patrakar Parishad) since 1980; Chairperson, (i) Maharashtra Council for Agriculture Education & Research, Government of Maharashtra, Pune (Cabinet status) for four years; (ii) Marathwada Rural Education Society, Nanded; (iii) Shard Pratibha Pratisthan, Nanded; (iv) Mahila Udyog Vikas Sanstha, Nanded since its formation in 1977-78; and (v) Multipurpose Labour Union, Nanded; Founder Chairman, Hutatma Jayawantrao Patil Cooperative Sugar Factory, Suryanagar, Hadgaon, Distt. Nanded; Director, (i) Distt. Nanded Cooperative Consumer Federation since 1988; and (ii) Maharashtra State Co- operative Bank, Mumbai for ten years from 1994-2004; Member, (i) Hindi Salahkar Samiti, Ministry of Steel and Mines and Ministry of Water Resources; and (ii) Central Advisory Committee for Light House, Ministry of Surface Transport, 1988-90; Runs schools and colleges in tribal and rural areas of Nanded district

Developed and Hosted by National Informatics Centre (NIC)
Content on this website is published, managed & maintained by Software Unit, Computer (HW & SW) Management. Branch, Lok Sabha Secretariat