Fourteenth Lok Sabha
Members Bioprofile

1996-2006 Member, West Bengal Legislative Assembly (two terms)
Member, Subject Committee of Enviornment and Co-operation, Govt. of West Bengal
2001-06 Deputy Leader of Opposition, West Bengal Legislative Assembly
19 Sept. 2006 Elected to 14th Lok Sabha in bye-election
2006 Member, All India Congress Committee (AICC)
Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Urban Development
Member, Dargah Committee, Dargah Khwaja Saheb, Ajmer
Executive Member, Pradesh Congress Committee, West Bengal
5 Aug. 2007 Member, Standing Committee on Human Resource Development
Aug. 2008 District President, Malda District Congress Committee
2009 Re-elected to 15th Lok Sabha (2nd term)
31 Aug. 2009 Member, Standing Committee on Coal and Steel
23 Sept. 2009 Member, Committee of Privileges
28 Oct. 2012 Union Minister of State, Health and Family Welfare
May, 2014 Re-elected to 16th Lok Sabha (3rd term)
1 Sep. 2014 - 25 May 2019 Member, Standing Committee on Personnel, Public Grievances, Law and Justice
Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Minority Affairs
May, 2019 Re-elected to 17th Lok Sabha (4th term)
13 Sept. 2019 onwards Member, Standing Committee on Railways
Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Heavy Industries and Public Enterprises

Developed and Hosted by National Informatics Centre (NIC)
Content on this website is published, managed & maintained by Software Unit, Computer (HW & SW) Management. Branch, Lok Sabha Secretariat