Fourteenth Lok Sabha
Members Bioprofile
Tripathy, Shri Braja Kishore
Constituency   : Puri (Odisha)
Party Name     : Biju Janata Dal (BJD)
Email Address : braja[AT]sansad[DOT]nic[DOT]in

Father's Name Late Pandit Balunkeswar Tripathy
Mother's Name Late Smt. Aparna Devi
Date of Birth 25 Sep 1947
Place of Birth Puri (Orissa)
Marital Status Married
Date of Marriage 20 May 1978
Spouse's Name Smt. Hemalata Devi
No. of Sons 2
No.of Daughters 1
M.A., LL.B.
Educated at Utkal University, Bhubaneswar (Orissa)
Profession Advocate
Permanent Address
(i) Tiadisahi, P.O. Puri Town,
Distt. Puri - 752 001 (Orissa)
(06752) 2314444
(ii) F-3/2,
MLA Colony, Unit-4,
(Bhouma Nagar) Bhubaneswar (Orissa)
Tels.(0674) 2506774
Fax: (0674) 2508991
Present Address
9, Talkatora Road,
New Delhi - 110 001
Tels. (011) 2375344, 23354939
Fax: 23358307
Positions Held
1973-77 Convenor, Labour Cell, Socialist Party, Orissa
1974-76 Member, Puri Municipal Council, Puri
1977-80 Convenor, Labour Cell, Janata Party, Orissa
1977-85 Member, National Council, Janata Party
1977-80, 1985-90 and 1990-91 Member, Orissa Legislative Assembly (three terms)
1977-80 and 1985-91 Member, Public Accounts Committee, Orissa Legislative Assembly
Member, Committee on Government Assurances, Orissa Legislative Assembly
Member, Committee on Public Undertakings, Orissa Legislative Assembly
1989-98 Member, National Council, Janata Dal
1990-91 Government Chief Whip (Cabinet Rank), Orissa Legislative Assembly
1991 Elected to 10th Lok Sabha
1991-96 Member, Estimates Committee
Member, Committee on Human Resource Development
Member, Committee on Health and Family Welfare
Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Steel
1991-97 Member, National Executive, Janata Dal
1991-98 Vice-President, Janata Dal, Orissa
1993-94 Member, Committee on Papers Laid on the Table
1998 Re-elected to 12th Lok Sabha (2nd term)
Chief Whip, Biju Janata Dal (B.J.D.) Parliamentary Party, Lok Sabha
1998-99 Member, Committee on Communications
Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Surface Transport
1999 Re-elected to 13th Lok Sabha (3rd term)
Chief Whip, Biju Janata Dal (BJD) Parliamentary Party, Lok Sabha
1999-2000 Member, Committee on Finance
Member, Business Advisory Committee
Member, Committee on Members of Parliament Local Area Development Scheme
Member, Joint Committee on Offices of Profit
2000-2004 Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of External Affairs
27 May 2000 - 1 May 2004 Union Minister of State (Independent Charge) Steel
2004 Re-elected to 14th Lok Sabha( 4th term)
Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Defence
Member, General Purposes Committee
Member, Committee on Home Affairs
Leader, Biju Janata Dal Parliamentary Party, Lok Sabha
18 January 2006-onwards Member, Sub-committee of the Department Related Parliamentary Standing Committee on Commerce for Special Economic Zones
5 Aug. 2007 onwards Member, Committee on Commerce

Literary, Artistic & Scientific Accomplishments
Published a number of articles in Oriya and english dailies,magazines and periodicals; edited a socio-cultural monthly magazine in Oriya named ‘Anurag’
Social And Cultural Activities
Worked in different fields of social reforms such as removal of untouchability, dowry system and drug abuse; Member of various socio-cultural organisations in national and state level
Special Interests
Peasant movement and trade union movement;
Favourite Pastime and Recreation
Reading, writing, travelling, playing indoor games and acting in drama
Sports and Clubs
Believes in development of sports and athletics; Member of a number of clubs and athletic associations of Orissa
Countries Visited
Austria, China, Finland, France, Germany, Japan; represented India on an invitation programme of Government of Japan on Labour Relation, Luxemburg, Ukrain Management, organised by Japan International Labour Foundation (JILAF) Luxemburg and Ukraine
Other Information
Participated in student and youth movements and jailed on a number of occasions; detained under MISA for more than 18 months during emergency; active in cooperative movement; elected to management of a number of cooperative banks and institutions; and President, Hind Mazdoor Sabha, Orissa Unit 1997 to May, 2000; President of number of Trade Unions

Developed and Hosted by National Informatics Centre (NIC)
Content on this website is published, managed & maintained by Software Unit, Computer (HW & SW) Management. Branch, Lok Sabha Secretariat