Fourteenth Lok Sabha
Members Bioprofile

1974-80 and 1985-95 Member, Uttar Pradesh Legislative Assembly
1974-77 General-Secretary, Bharatiya Kranti Dal, Uttar Pradesh
1977-80 Minister, Jails, Cane Development and Sugar Industry, Govt. of Uttar Pradesh
General-Secretary, Janata Party (J.P.), Uttar Pradesh
1980-84 General-Secretary, Bharatiya Lok Dal (B.L.D.), Uttar Pradesh
1985-89 Deputy Leader, Lok Dal Legislature Party, Uttar Pradesh
1989-91 Minister, Public Works Department, Excise and Parliamentary Affairs, Govt. of Uttar Pradesh
Member, Janata Dal (J.D.) Parliamentary Board
1992 Chief Whip, Janata Dal, Uttar Pradesh
1993-94 Minister, Public Works Department and Parliamentary Affairs, Govt. of Uttar Pradesh
General-Secretary, Samajwadi Party (S.P.)
Chief Whip, S.P. Legislature Party, Uttar Pradesh
1996 Elected to 11th Lok Sabha
1 Jun. 1996- 29 Jun. 1996 Union Minister of State, Parliamentary Affairs
Jun. 1996- Jul. 1996 Union Minister of State, Communications (Independent Charge)
1996-98 Union Cabinet Minister, Communications
1998 Re-elected to 12th Lok Sabha (2nd term)
1998-99 Member, General Purposes Committee
Member, Committee on Finance
Convenor, Sub-Committee `A` on Department of Telecom, Committee on Communications
Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Communications
1999 Re-elected to 13th Lok Sabha (3rd term)
1999-2004 Member, Committee on Home Affairs
Member, General Purposes Committee
2004 Re-elected to 14th Lok Sabha( 4th term)
Member, Committee on Home Affairs
Member Committee of Privileges
25 Aug. 2006 Member, Committee of Privileges
5 Aug. 2007 Member, Committee on Rural Development
2009 Re-elected to 15th Lok Sabha (5th term)
Jun. 2009 Member, Panel of Chairmen
31 Aug. 2009 Chairman, Committee on Water Resources
19 Jan 2011 Union Minister of State, (Independent Charge) Steel
July 2011 Union Cabinet Minister, Steel

Developed and Hosted by National Informatics Centre (NIC)
Content on this website is published, managed & maintained by Software Unit, Computer (HW & SW) Management. Branch, Lok Sabha Secretariat