Fourteenth Lok Sabha
Members Bioprofile
Vanlalzawma, Shri
Constituency   : Mizoram -ST (Mizoram)
Party Name     : Mizo National Front (MNF)
Email Address : vzawma[AT]sansad[DOT]nic[DOT]in

Father's Name Shri Remkunga
Mother's Name Smt. Chalnghaki
Date of Birth 10 Feb 1956
Place of Birth Chhipphir, Distt. Lunglei (Mizoram)
Marital Status Married
Date of Marriage 16 Oct 1981
Spouse's Name Smt. Remtluangi
No. of Sons 3
B.A. (Hons.) History, M.A. (History)
Educated at Pachhunga University College, Aizawl
and North-Eastern Hill University, Shillong
Profession Educationist
Social Worker, Sportsperson
Permanent Address
T/27, Tuikhuahtlang,
Aizwal - 796 001(Mizoram)
(0389) 2325914,2322299
Present Address
22, South Avenue,
New Delhi - 110 011
Tels. (011) 23793134, 23794150, 9868180301 (M)
Positions Held
1999 Elected to 13th Lok Sabha
Member, Committee on Absence of Members from the sitting of the House
1999-2002 Member, Committee on Human Resource Development
2000-2004 Member, Consultative Committee, Department of Youth Affairs and Sports
2002-2004 Member, Committee on Information Techonology
2004 Re-elected to 14th Lok Sabha( 2nd term)
Member, Committee on Petroleum & Natural Gas
Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Communications and Information Technology
5 Aug. 2007 onwards Member, Standing Committee on External Affairs

Special Interests
Reading and sports
Sports and Clubs
Represented the State in Chess and Volleyball
Other Information
Instrumental in accelerating the peace process in Mizoram in the eighties; participated actively in the Post Graduate Students Union as a leader during 1979-91 in North Eastern Hill University (N.E.H.U.), Shillong; served as National Service Scheme (NSS) Programme Officer for 4 years and had undergone N.S.S. Orientation Course at Kharagpur (West Bengal); taught at the Degree level for a period of 17 years; General Secretary, Mizoram College Teachers Association (M.C.T.A.), 1985-87; Vice-President, M.C.T.A., 1987-89; President, M.C.T.A., 1989-91; Leader of the Young Mizo Association (YMA), the biggest voluntary organisation with a membership of over 2.5 lakhs scattered in 702 Branches/Units; General Secretary, Vice-President, President of this organisation since 1993 ; recipient of Indira Gandhi Paryavaran Puraskar (I.G.P.P.) from the President of India on behalf of YMA in 1994 for outstanding contribution of the YMA towards Wildlife Preservation and Afforestation; Chairman, Vice-Chairman, Delhi Mizo Welfare Association; Member, (i) AIDS Control Society of Mizoram, (ii) Green Mizoram State Level Committee, (iii) Total Prohibition Council, Mizoram; (iv) 125th Gandhian Birth Anniversary Committee; (v) Mizoram Pollution Control Board; (vi) North Eastern Zone Cultural Centre (N.E.Z.C.C.) Programme Committee; (vii) Mizo Customary Law Committee; (viii) Reproductive Child Health Committee; (ix) Mizoram Blood Transfusion Council; (x) State Rural Development Committee; (xi) State Level Social Preservation Committee; and (xii) ACTIONAID -CYMA Joint Project on Socio-Economic Development of Mizoram; Chairman, (i) District Level Vigilance and Monitoring Committee on Rural Development in 8 Districts of Mizoram; and (ii) State Consultative Committee of F.C.I. for the state of Mizoram

Developed and Hosted by National Informatics Centre (NIC)
Content on this website is published, managed & maintained by Software Unit, Computer (HW & SW) Management. Branch, Lok Sabha Secretariat