Seventeenth Lok Sabha
Members Bioprofile
Khan, Shri Mohammad Azam
Constituency   : Rampur (Uttar Pradesh)
Party Name     : Samajwadi Party(SP)
Email Address : mohammadazam[DOT]khan[AT]gov[DOT]in

Father's Name Late Shri Mohd. Mumtaz Khan
Date of Birth 14 Aug 1948
Place of Birth Rampur
Marital Status Married
Date of Marriage 17 May 1981
Spouse's Name Dr. (Smt.) Tazeen Fatima
No. of Sons 2
B.A. (Hons), M.A.(Hons), LLM
Profession Agriculturist
Permanent Address
Gher Mir Baz Khan, Masjid-e-Rabbi, Jail Road,
Distt. Rampur-244901, U.P.
09415607314 (M)
Positions Held
1980-2017 Member, Uttar Pradesh Legislative Assembly (Eight Terms )
1982-1985 Member, Parliamentary Research, Reference and Studies Committee of the UP Legislative Assembly
1984-1985 Member, Delegated Legislation Committee of the UP Legislative Assembly
December 1989-June 1991 Minister of Labour, Employment, Muslim Waqf, Revenue, Scarcity, Relief and Rehabilitation, Government of Uttar Pradesh
December 1993-June 1995 Minister, Cooperation, Muslim Waqf, Government of Uttar Pradesh
1996-2002 Member, Rajya Sabha
2002 Member, Estimates and Petitions Committee, UP Legislative Assembly
May 2002-August 2003 Leader of the Opposition, Uttar Pradesh Legislative Assembly
2003-2007 Member, Business Advisory Committee, Government of Uttar Pradesh
2003- May 2007 Minister, Parliamentary Affairs and Urban Development, Water Supply, Government of Uttar Pradesh
March 2012 Minister, Parliamentary Affairs, Urban Development and Muslim Waqf Board, Government of Uttar Pradesh
2012-2013 Member, Business Advisory Committee
May 2019 Elected to 17th Lok Sabha
13 Sept. 2019 -12 Sept. 2020 Member, Standing Committee on Rural Development
13 Sept. 2020 - 22 March 2022 Member, Standing Committee on Science & Technology, Environment, Forests and Climate Change
Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Power and Ministry of New and Renewable Energy
22 March 2022 Resigned

Favourite Pastime and Recreation
Reading, Social Service
Countries Visited
Saudi Arabia, Iraq, Most of the countries of Europe
Other Information
(i) Member, Estimates and petitions Committee, UP Legislative Assembly (ii) Chairperson, Minorities Forum of India; (iii) Chairperson, Maulana Mohd. Ali Jauhar Trust; (iv) Ex-Trustee; Dr. Ram Manohar Lohia Trust; (v) Member, Samajwadi Party Central Parliamentary Board; (vi) National Secretary-General, Samajwadi Party; (vii) Imprisoned for almost three years in Aligarh, Rampur, Faizabad, Unnao and Varanasi Jails for participating in various student and political agitations under various sections including MISA

Developed and Hosted by National Informatics Centre (NIC)
Content on this website is published, managed & maintained by Software Unit, Computer (HW & SW) Management. Branch, Lok Sabha Secretariat