Biographical Sketch Member of Parliament 12th Lok Sabha

Father's Name	    	Late Thakur Mahendra Singh

Date of Birth	    	12 October 1919

Place of Birth	    	Sagar (Madhya Pradesh)

Marital Status	    	Married on 21 February 1941

Spouse's Name	    	Late Maharaja Jivajirao Scindia

Children	    	One son and four daughters

Educational Qualifications  	

		Educated at Home and Anne Besant Theosophical School,
		Varanasi and Elizabath Thoburn College, Lucknow (Uttar Pradesh) 


		Political and Social Worker and Former Ruler

Permanent Address     

		Jeeja Asheesh, Jai Vilas Palace, Lashkar,
		(Madhya Pradesh)

		Tels. (0751) 323500 (R) 323431 (O)
		Fax.  (0751) 330159 

Present Address     

		Lekha Vihar, Scindia Potteries Compound,
		Sarojini Nagar, 
		New Delhi-110023

		Tels. (011) 4675916 (O) 6883770 (R)
		Fax. (011) 6886217

Positions Held  
1957		Elected to 2nd Lok Sabha 

1962		Re-elected to 3rd Lok Sabha (2nd term)

1967-71		Member, Madhya Pradesh Legislative Assembly

1971		Re-elected to 5th Lok Sabha (3rd term)

1978-89		Member, Rajya Sabha (two terms)

1989		Re-elected to 9th Lok Sabha (4th term) 

1990-91		Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of 
		Human Resource Development

1991		Re-elected to 10th Lok Sabha (5th term)

1996		Re-elected to 11th Lok Sabha (6th term) 

1996-97		Member, Committee on Science and Technology,
		Environment and Forests
1998		Re-elected to 12th Lok Sabha (7th term)

1998-99		Member, Committee on Science and Technology,
		Environment and Forests; and its Sub-Committee
	        on Food technology

Books Published	 

(i) The Last Maharani of Gwalior; and (ii)Lok Path
se Raj Path (in Hindi)

Social and Cultural Activities     

Founder-President, (i) Shishu Mandir; and (ii) Scindia Kanya 
Vidyalaya, Gwalior

Special Interests     	

Social service, politics, education for women and children

Favourite Pastime and Recreation    

Music and arts

Sports and Clubs    	

Member, (i) India International Centre, New Delhi; (ii) 
Constitutional Club, New Delhi; (iii) Wellington Sports Club,
New Delhi; (iv) Royal Western Turf Club, Mumbai; (v)Cricket 
Club of India, Mumbai; (vi) National Sports Club, Mumbai; 
and (vii) Gymkhana Club, Mumbai

Countries Visited  

Widely travelled

Other Information  

President, (i)All India Women's Conference (Gwalior Branch) 
for 40 years; (ii) Madhav Institute of Technology and Science
(MITS) Board of Governors, Gwalior; Trustee, Vishwa Hindu 
Parishad; Pro-Chancellor, Sagar University; and detained in 
Tihar Jail during Emergency, 1975; Conferred Honorary Doctorate
by Vikram University, Ujjain and Sagar University, Sagar
(Madhya Pradesh)

Election Result of
Guna Lok Sabha Constituency  

Total electorate 	12,16,266
Total votes polled 	 7,34,181

Votes polled in favour of the first four leading candidates

(1) Smt. Vijaya Raje Scindia 	(B.J.P.) 3,36,151
(2) Shri Devendra Singh 	(I.N.C.) 2,33,153
(3) Shri Prakash Singh 		(B.S.P.) 1,17,154
(4) Shri Prabhati Lal 		(C.P.I.)   18,318