Biographical Sketch
Member of Parliament
XI Lok Sabha


Father's Name	:   	Pandit Mool Chand Sharma

Date of Birth	:   	5 July 1925

Place of Birth	:   	Dausa (Rajasthan)

Marital Status	:   	Married on 20 February 1944

Spouse's Name	:   	Smt. Munni Devi

Children	:   	Two sons

Educational Qualifications :
	B.A., LL.B. and Sahitya Visharad 
	Educated at Maharaja College, Jaipur; Agra University, Agra 
	and Hindi Sahitya Sammelan, Prayag (Uttar Pradesh)

Profession :
   	Advocate and Agriculturist

Permanent Address :
   	B-50, Janata Colony, Jaipur-302004 (Rajasthan)
	Tel. (0141) 601723
Positions Held :
1951-56		Chairman, Municipal Board, Dausa
1961-65		Pradhan, Panchayat Samiti
1968		Elected to Lok Sabha (Fourth)
1971		Re-elected to Lok Sabha (Fifth)
1971-72		Secretary, Congress Parliamentary Party
1972-73 and 	Member, House Committee
1972-73		Chairman, Committee on Public Undertakings
1972-74		Chairman,Joint Select Committee on Companies(Amendment)Bill
1974-77		Joint Secretary, A.I.C.C.
1980		Elected to Lok Sabha (Seventh) for the third time
1980-82		President, I.N.T.U.C., Rajasthan
1982-85		President, P.C.C., Rajasthan
1984		Elected to Lok Sabha (Eighth) for the fourth time
Nov-Dec.1984	Union Minister of State, Finance
Dec.1984-	Union Minister of State (Independent Charge), 
Sept.1985	Petroleum
Sept.1985-	Union Minister of State (Independent Charge), 
Jan. 1986	Patroleum  & Natural Gas
1986-87 and	Secretary, A.I.C.C.
1996		Elected to Lok Sabha (Eleventh) for the fifth time

Literary, Artistic and Scientific Accomplishments :
   	Editor of 'Socialist India' and 'Socialist Bharat'; columnist 

Social and Cultural Activities :
   	Upliftment of Adivasis and removal  of untouchability

Special Interests :
   	Reading and writing

Favourite Pastime and Recreation :
   	Music and playing cards

Sports and Clubs :
   	Indoor sports

Countries Visited :
   	Widely travelled

Other Information :
   	Member (i)  All   India  Khadi  Commission; (ii) District Board, 
	Jaipur,1951-58;and (iii) Rajasthan State Planning Board;Chairman 
	(i)  National  Agricultural  Federation  of  India, 1980-86; and 
	(ii) All India Khadi and  Village Industries Commission, 1995-96

Election Result :
Alwar Lok Sabha constituency
Total electorate	11,32,574
Total votes polled	 4,38,479
Votes polled in favour of the
first four leading candidates :
(1) Shri Nawal Kishore Sharma (I.N.C.)	1,56,947
(2) Shri Jaswant Singh Yadav (B.J.P.)	1,54,514
(3) Shri Jagmal Singh Yadav (J.D.)	  48,476
(4) Shri Virja Nand (S.P.)		  28,735