Biographical Sketch Member of Parliament 12th Lok Sabha

Father's Name    	Late Shri John Chacko

Date of Birth    	29 September 1946

Place of Birth   	Kanjirappally, Distt. Kottayam (Kerala)

Marital Status   	Married on 10 May 1979

Spouse's Name    	Smt. Leela Chacko

Children              	Two sons

Educational Qualifications 


		Educated at Mar Ivanios College and University College,
		Kerala University, Thiruvananthapuram (Kerala)


		Political and Social Worker

Permanent Address  
		'Sarohito', Valavi Road, 
		Ernakulam, Cochin-682018 

		Tel. (0484) 395330

Present Address  

		16, Janpath,
		New Delhi - 110001

		Tel. (011) 3782172

Positions held  

1970-73		President, Pradesh Youth Congress Committee,

1973-75		General-Secretary, Indian Youth Congress

1975-79		General-Secretary, Pradesh Congress Committee (Indira)
		[P.C.C.(I)], Kerala

1980-82		Member, Kerala Legislative Assembly

		Minister for Industries, Kerala

1982-86		President, P.C.C. (S), Kerala

1991		Elected to 10th Lok Sabha 

1995-96		Member, Committee on Finance

1996		Re-elected to 11th Lok Sabha (2nd term)

1996-97		Member, Committee on Transport and Tourism

1998		Re-elected to 12th Lok Sabha (3rd term)

		Member, Executive Committee, Congress Parliamentary
		Party (C.P.P.)

1998-99		Member, Committee on Transport and Tourism

		Member, Panel of Chairmen

		Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Commerce

Literary, Artistic and Scientific Accomplishments  

Member, Kerala Sahithya Parishath; associated with socio-cultural, 
literary Associations

Special Interests  

Banking and finance

Favourite pastime and Recreation  

Reading, games and travelling

Countries Visited  

Afghanistan, Trinidad and Tobago, U.K., U.S.A. and former 
U.S.S.R.; Leader (i) Indian Youth Delegation to Indo-Soviet
Youth Friendship Week at Alma Ata, Kazakhstan, 1973;
(ii) Indian Parliamentary Delegation to U.S.A., U.K.;and 
Member, Indian Parliamentary Delegation to Commonwelath
Parliamentary Conference, Trinidad and Tobago
Other Information  
Director, Federal Bank Ltd., Alwaye; Managing Director, 
Veekshanam Printing and Publishing Co. Ltd., Cochin;
Member, (i)Rubber Board; and (ii)Press Council of India, 

Election Result of
Idukki Lok Sabha Constituency  

Total electorate 	10,53,290
Total votes polled 	 7,19,111

Votes polled in favour of the first four leading candidates

(1) Shri P.C. Chacko 		(I.N.C.) 3,33,999
(2) Shri K. Francis George 	(K.E.C.) 3,27,649
(3) Shri D Asokakumar 		(B.J.P.)   46,130
(4) Shri Raj Mohan Thampi 	(B.S.P.)    3,824