Fifth Lok Sabha
Members Bioprofile


SAMANTA, SHRI SATIS CHANDRA, (Bangla Congress), West Bengal-Tamluk—1971, Son of late Shri Trailokya Nath Samanta; b. Vill. & P.O. Gopalpur, District Midnapur, December 15, 1900; ed. at Mahishadal Raj H. E. School, Bangabasi College and Bengal Technical Institute (Engineering College), Calcutta; Unmarried; Social worker, wholetime Congress worker, 1921-1966; Suffered imprisonment seven times between 1920 and 1948 in connection with the struggle for Independence; Secretary, Mahishadal Thana Congress Committee (1922-24); Teacher, Gundadhar National High School at Kakurdah, (1923-24), Incharge, Nimtouri Deshbandhu Village Reorganisation Centre (1925-30); Secretary, Tamluk and Panskura Thana Congress Committee (1931-38); President, Tamluk Sub-Divisional Congress Committee (1939-62); Dictator, National Government at Tamluk (1942-43); President Gandhi Subhagaman Memorial Committee, Mahishadal (1946-71); Member, Executive Committee of the Ramkrishna Mission, Sevasram at Tamluk, 1954-71; President, Swami Prajnananand Smriti Raksha Samiti, Mahishadal, 1956-71, Member, Constituent Assembly 1947-1949; Provisional Parliament, 1950-52, First Lok Sabha, 1952-57, Second Lok Sabha, 1957-62, Third Lok Sabha, 1962-67, and Fourth Lok Sabha, 1967-70; Member, Team of Parliament Members sent to Jammu & Kashmir by the Ministry of Defence (1949); Member, F.A.O. Liaison Committee, 1951-52; and Railway Corruption Enquiry Committee, 1953-55; Leader, Indian Parliamentary Delegation to the Inter-Parliamentary Union Conference held at Vienna, 1954; Member, Estimates Committee of Parliament, 1955-57 and 1960-62; Visited Industrial Establishments in India, 1955; Assessor, Court of Enquiry, Burra Dhemo Colliery Accident (1956); Convener, State Committee of Congress Members of Parliament from West Bengal, 1957-62; Member, P. & T. Advisory Committee, West Bengal Circle, 1954-57 and 1958-60; Assessor, Court of  Enquiry, Chinakuri Colliery Accident, 1958; Member, Central Advisory Board of Anthropology; Member, (i) West Bengal State Level Handicrafts Advisory Committee, 1959-67, (2) Coir Board, 1960-62 and its Research Committee, 1960-65, (3) Indian Airlines Corporation Advisory Committee, 1960-65, (4) Executive Committee of Congress Party in Parliament, 1961-66, (5) West Bengal and Orissa Regional Salt Advisory Committee, 1960-71; Member, (1) Parliamentary Scientific Committee, 1962-57, (2) Indian Parliamentary Group, 1954-71, (3) Congress Socialist Forum, 1962-66, (4) Farakka Barrage Sub-Committee of the Informal Consultative Committee of Irrigation and Power, 1962-71, (5) Road and Inland Water Transport Committee of the Ministry of Transport, 1962-65, (6) Joint Select Committee on Marine Insurance Bill, 1962-63, (7) Tamluk District Library Committee, 1962-71, (8) Rural Industries Project, Tamluk, 1962-71, (9) Central Advisory Board for the Welfare of the Harijans, 1962-67, (10) Indian Central Jute Committee, 1962-66, (11) Committee on Customary Rights to scavenging set up by the Central Advisory Board for Harijan Welfare, 1965-66, (12) Sub-Committee for Media of Mass Communication of National Committee for Gandhi Centenary (1. & B. Ministry) since March 1966, (13) National Shipping Board, 1965-67; Chairman, (1) Evaluation Committee on Plan Publicity by Voluntary Organisations (I. & B. Ministry), 1964-65, (2) Joint Committee on the Seeds Bill, 1966.

Hobbies:  Gardening. 

Special interests:  Travels.

Sports and Clubs:  President, Mahishadal Rifle Club.

Travels abroad:  Austria, West Germany, Holland, Belgium, U.K., France, Switzerland, Italy and Singapore.

Books published:  1. "Two years National Government in Midnapur" (English), 2. "Muktir Gan" (Bengali).

Permanent address:  (i) P.O. Tamluk, District Midnapur, West Bengal.

     (ii) Village and P.O. Gopalpur via Mahishadal, District Midnapur, West Bengal.