Sixteenth Lok Sabha
Members Bioprofile
Ananth Kumar, Shri
Constituency   : Bangalore South (Karnataka)
Party Name     : Bharatiya Janata Party(BJP)
Email Address : akumar-alpha[AT]sansad[DOT]nic[DOT]in

Father's Name Shri H. N. Narayana Shastry
Mother's Name Smt. Girija N. Shastry
Date of Birth 22 Jul 1959
Place of Birth Bengaluru (Karnataka)
Marital Status Married
Date of Marriage 15 Feb 1989
Spouse's Name Smt. Tejaswini Ananth Kumar
No.of Daughters 2
B.A., LL.B.
Educated at K.S. Arts College, Hubballi, and J.S.S. Law College, Karnataka University, Hubballi, Karnataka
Profession Social Worker
Permanent Address
No. 26, H.B. Samaja Road, Basavanagudi,
Bengaluru - 560 004, Karnataka
Tel : (080) 26568484
Fax : (080) 26560286
Present Address
26, Tughlak Crescent,
New Delhi - 110 011
Tel : (011) 23794754
Fax : (011) 23012791
Positions Held
1982-85 Secretary, Akhil Bharatiya Vidhyarathi Parishad (A.B.V.P.), Karnataka
1985-87 National Secretary, A.B.V.P.
1987-88 Secretary, Bharatiya Janata Party (B.J.P.), Karnataka
1988-95 General Secretary, B.J.P., Karnataka
1995 -98 National Secretary, B.J.P.
1996 Elected to 11th Lok Sabha
1996-97 Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Industry
Member, Standing Committee, Ministry of Railways
1998 Re-elected to 12th Lok Sabha (2nd term)
Mar. 1998 - Oct. 1999 Union Cabinet Minister, Civil Aviation
Jan. 1999 - Oct. 1999 Additional charge, Ministry of Tourism
1999 Re-elected to 13th Lok Sabha (3rd term)
13 Oct. 1999 - 2 Feb. 2000 Union Cabinet Minister, Culture, Youth Affairs and Sports
2 Feb. 2000 - 1 Sep. 2001 Union Cabinet Minister, Tourism and Culture
1 Sep. 2001- Jul. 2003 Union Cabinet Minister, Urban Development & Poverty Alleviation with additional charge of Rural Development (from 6 April 2003-24 May 2003
26 Jun. 2003 President, Bharatiya Janata Party, Karnataka
2004 Re-elected to 14th Lok Sabha( 4th term)
Aug. 2004 - 8 Mar. 2007 Chairman, Standing Committee on Coal & Steel
Member, General Purposes Committee
1 Nov. 2004 - May 2014 National General Secretary, Bharatiya Janata Party
Member & Secretary, BJP Parliamentary Board
Member & Secretary, BJP Central Election Committee
2005 Member, Joint Committee on Office of Profit
9 Mar. 2007 Chairman, Standing Committee on Finance
Member, Business Advisory Committee
2009 Re-elected to 15th Lok Sabha (5th term)
31 Aug. 2009 - 5 May 2010 Chairman, Standing Committee on Chemicals and Fertilizers
23 Sep. 2009 Member, Committee of Privileges
Member, Rules Committee
Member, Business Advisory Committee
7 May 2010 - 2014 Chairman, Standing Committee on External Affairs
May, 2014 Re-elected to 16th Lok Sabha (6th term)
27 May 2014 - 5 July 2016 Union Cabinet Minister, Chemicals and Fertilizers
June 2014 Member, BJP Central Election Committee
Member, BJP Parliamentary Board
5 July 2016 - 12 Nov. 2018 Union Cabinet Minister, Chemicals and Fertilizers; and Parliamentary Affairs
12 Nov. 2018 Expired

Literary, Artistic & Scientific Accomplishments
Published articles on national issues in well-known newspapers and periodicals; authored many booklets on socio-political issues and education; well known public speaker in Kannada, Hindi, English and Telugu on political and educational issues
Social And Cultural Activities
Chief Patron, Adamya Chetana, Smt. Girija Shastry Memorial Trust, which has successfully undertaken over projects: (i) Annapoorna - to provide nutritious mid-day meal to 2,00,000 under privileged, needy school children with Govt. support, Bangalore, Hubli, Gulbarga and Jodhpur, Rajasthan; (ii) Aata-Paatha - a mobile unit, fiTted with educational gadgets like computers, sports equipments, costumes for drama, teaching aids, books, drawing and painting materials, audio visual equipments, etc.,; visit different schools situated in slums of Bengaluru making teaching, learning a fun experience; Adoption of Government schools to provide drinking water facility, building renovation, uniforms and health check-ups etc; and (iv) Vocational training programme for under-privileged especially girls and women; associated with the blood donation site "" aimed to bring blood donors and the needy together.
Special Interests
Reading, Writing, Poetry and Travelling
Favourite Pastime and Recreation
Sight seeing, star gazing, playing with children
Sports and Clubs
Cricket, Badminton, Table Tennis, Chess
Countries Visited
Brazil, China, France, Germany, Italy, Iran, Japan, Malaysia, Peru, Singapore, Switzerland, Turkmenistan, U.A.E., U.K., and U.S.A.
Other Information
As part of International Exchange Programme; and as Special Emissary of the Government of India hoisted the Tri-colour in Washington for the celebration of 51st Year of Indian Independence in August, 1998. As Member of the Indian Parliamentarian delegation to 67th UN General Assembly – Was the first Indian to address the U.N.G.A. in Kannada on 16th October, 2012.
Participated in J.P. Movement against Emergency Rule in India, 1975-77; detained for about 40 days; Founder President, Aerospace Museum Society, Bangalore, April, 1999;
State Convenor, (i) Save Assam Movement, Karnataka, 1983; (ii) International Youth Year, 1985; and (iii) R.S.S. sponsored Drought Relief Committee, Karnataka, 1986;
Organiser, State and national level conferences and study camps; Convenor for many State and University level agitations;
Member, (i) Member of the delegation to The United States of America with Shri Narendra Modi, 1993; (ii) Central Silk Board, 1996-97; (iii) Indian Parliamentary Delegation to UNESCO, 1996; (iv) Young Parliamentarian Conference, 1997; (v) Governing Council, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, 1996-98 and 2004-09; (vi) Infrastructure Task Force, November 1988; (vii) Indian Parliamentary Delegation to China; (viii) Vice Chairman ABIDe (Agenda for Bangalore Infrastructure Development) 2008-2010; (ix) Vice-President, The Council Of World Affairs, 7 May, 2010 onwards (x) Press Council of India, 16 June, 2010 onwards; (xi) Indian-Portugal Parliamentary Friendship Group, 29 July, 2010 onwards; and (xii) NIMHANS, 16th August, 2013 onwards.

Developed and Hosted by National Informatics Centre (NIC)
Content on this website is published, managed & maintained by Software Unit, Computer (HW & SW) Management. Branch, Lok Sabha Secretariat