Seventeenth Lok Sabha
Members Bioprofile
Baalu, Shri Thalikkottai Rajuthevar
Constituency   : Sriperumbudur (Tamil Nadu)
Party Name     : Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam(DMK)
Email Address : risingsun[AT]trbaalu[DOT]in

Father's Name Shri Rajuthevar
Date of Birth 15 Jun 1941
Place of Birth Thalikottai, Distt. Thiruvarur (Tamil Nadu)
Marital Status Married
Date of Marriage 19 Oct 1970
Spouse's Name Smt. T.R.B. Porkodi B. Renukadevi
No. of Sons 3
No.of Daughters 2
B.Sc., L.C.E.
Profession Social Worker
Engineer, Industrialist
Permanent Address
23, United India Colony, First Cross Street,
Kodambakkam, Chennai - 600 024, Tamil Nadu
Tels: (044) 28150202, 09444141400 (M)
Present Address
10, Raisina Road,
New Delhi-110001
Tels: (011) 23321010, 9444141400 (M)
Fax : (011) 23321010
Positions Held
1957 onwards Member, Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (D.M.K.)
1982 - 1993 Secretary, D.M.K., Madras District Unit
1986-92 Member, Rajya Sabha
Member, Public Accounts Committee
Member, Committee on Rules (Rajya Sabha)
1996 Elected to 11th Lok Sabha
1996-98 Union Minister of State, Petroleum and Natural Gas
Whip, DMK Party in Parliament
1998 Re-elected to 12th Lok Sabha (Two Terms)
1998-99 Member, Parliamentary Committee on Railways
Member, Parliamentary Consultative Committee, Ministry of Home Affairs
1999 Re-elected to 13th Lok Sabha (Three Terms)
23 Oct. 2002-1 Dec. 2003 President, Conference of Parties (COP), United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC)
13 Oct.1999- 21 Dec. 2003 Union Cabinet Minister, Environment & Forests
2004 Re-elected to 14th Lok Sabha (Four Terms)
22 May 2004 - 22 May 2009 Union Cabinet Minister, Shipping, Road Transport & Highways
Leader of the DMK Party in Parliament
Member, various Cabinet Committees including Cabinet Committee on Political Affairs (CCPA), Cabinet committee on Economic Affairs (CCEA) etc. and Member, United Progressive Alliance (UPA) Coordination Committee
2007-2008 Chairperson, Transport Ministers of SAARC countries
2009 Re-elected to 15th Lok Sabha (Five Terms)
May 2009 onwards Leader, DMK Party in Parliament
29 Jun. 2009 Member, Business Advisory Committee
31 Aug. 2009 Chairman, Standing Committee on Railways
16 Sep. 2009 Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Finance
7 Oct. 2009 Member, Committee on Ethics
19 Oct. 2009 Member, General Purposes Committee
4 Nov. 2009 Member, Standing Committee on Social Justice and Empowerment
22 Jan. 2010 Member, Parliamentary Forum on Water Conservation and Management
9 June. 2013 Member, House Committee
May 2019 Re-elected to 17th Lok Sabha (Six Terms)
24 July 2019 onwards Member, Committee on Public Accounts
13 Sept. 2019 onwards Member, Standing Committee on Railways
09 Oct. 2019 onwards Member, Committee of Privileges
21 Nov. 2019 onwards Member, General Purposes Committee, Lok Sabha
Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Home Affairs
16 Sept. 2022 onwards Member, Committee on Welfare of Other Backward Classes

Special Interests
Social service
Sports and Clubs
Countries Visited
Widely travelled
Other Information
(i) Participated in the naming ceremony of Very Large Crude Oil Carrier (VLCC) of Shipping Corporation of India (SCI) in Hyundai Heavy Industries Shipyard Complex, South Korea in January, 2005; (ii) Assiduously campaigned for the early ratification of Kyoto Protocol in the capacity of President of Conference of Parties (COP), UNFCCC; (iii) Organised the 8th Conference of Parties to the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change in New Delhi from 23rd October to 1st November 2002, the Conference was represented by 80 countries at the level of Ministers of Environment, the Conference culminated in adoption of Delhi Declaration on Climate Change; (iv) Led the Indian delegation to World Summit on Sustainable Development held in Johannesburg, South Africa from 26th to 30th August, 2002; after intensive deliberations, the Summit adopted a Political Declaration and Johannesburg Plan of Implementation for furthering the international action for promoting sustainable development; (v) Participated in several International Conferences/Seminars as the Minister of State for Petroleum and Natural Gas, Minister of Environment and Forests and Minister of Shipping, Road Transport & Highways; Chairperson, Transport Ministers of SAARC countries, 2007-2008

Developed and Hosted by National Informatics Centre (NIC)
Content on this website is published, managed & maintained by Software Unit, Computer (HW & SW) Management. Branch, Lok Sabha Secretariat