Fourteenth Lok Sabha
Members Bioprofile
Vajpayee, Shri Atal Bihari
Constituency   : Lucknow (Uttar Pradesh)
Party Name     : Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)
Email Address : vajpayee[AT]sansad[DOT]nic[DOT]in

Father's Name Shri Krishna Bihari Vajpayee
Date of Birth 25 Dec 1924
Place of Birth Gwalior (Madhya Pradesh)
Marital Status Unmarried
M.A. (Political Science)
Educated at Victoria (now Laxmibai) College, Gwalior (Madhya Pradesh) and D.A.V. College, Kanpur (Uttar Pradesh)
Profession Journalist
Social Worker
Permanent Address
10, Mall Avenue,
Lucknow - 226 001 (Uttar Pradesh)
Present Address
6 A - Krishna Menon Marg ,
New Delhi - 110 011
Tels. (011) 23015308, 23793877, 9868180920(M)
Positions Held
1951 Founder-Member, Bharatiya Jana Sangh (B.J.S)
1957 1957 Elected to 2nd Lok Sabha
1957-77 Leader, Bharatiya Jana Sangh Parliamentary Party
1962 Member, Rajya Sabha
1966-67 Chairman, Committee on Government Assurances
1967 Re-elected to 4th Lok Sabha (2nd term)
1967-70 Chairman, Public Accounts Committee
1968-73 President, Bhartiya Jana Sangh
1971 Re-elected to 5th Lok Sabha (3rd term)
1977 Re-elected to 6th Lok Sabha (4th term)
1977-79 Union Cabinet Minister, External Affairs
1977-80 Founder- Member, Janata Party
1980 Re-elected to 7th Lok Sabha (5th term)
1980-86 President, Bharatiya Janata Party (B.J.P.)
1980-84, 1986 and 1993-96 Leader, B.J.P. Parliamentary Party
1986 Member, Rajya Sabha
1988-89 Member, General Purposes Committee
1988-90 Member, House Committee
Member, Business Advisory Committee
1990-91 Chairman, Committee on Petitions
1991 Re-elected to 10th Lok Sabha (6th term)
1991-93 Chairman, Public Accounts Committee
1991-93 Chairman, Public Accounts Committee
1993-96 Chairman, Committee on External Affairs
Leader of Opposition, Lok Sabha
1996 Re-elected to 11th Lok Sabha (7th term)
16 May 1996- 31 May 1996 Prime Minister of India; and in charge of other subjects not allocated to any other Cabinet Minister
1996-97 Leader of Opposition, Lok Sabha
1997-98 Chairman, Committee on External Affairs
1998 Re-elected to 12th Lok Sabha (8th term)
1998-99 Prime Minister of India; Minister of External Affairs; and also incharge of Ministries/Departments not specifically allocated to the charge of any Minister
1999 Re-elected to 13th Lok Sabha (9th term)
Leader, B.J.P., Parliamentary Party, Lok Sabha
13 Oct.1999- May 2004 Prime Minister of India and also in charge of the Ministries/Departments not specifically allocated to the charge of any Minister
2004 Re-elected to 14 Lok Sabha (10th term)
Chairman, B.J.P. and N.D.A. Parliamentary Party

Books Published
(i) Lok Sabha Mein Atalji (a collection of speeches); (ii) Mrityu Ya Hatya; (iii) Amar Balidan, (iv) Kaidi Kavirai Ki Kundalian (a collection of poems written in jail during Emergency); (v) New Dimensions of India`s Foreign Policy (a collection of speeches delivered as External Affairs Minister during 1977-79); (vi) Jana Sangh Aur Musalman; (vii) Three Decades in Parliament (Speeches in three volumes); (viii) Amar Aag Hai(a collection of poems) 1994; (ix) Meri Ekyavan Kavitayen; (x) Four Decades in Parliament (English)-4 Volumes of Speeches in Parliament, 1957-95

(xi) 21 Poems; (xii) Gathbandhan ki Rajneeti; (xiii) Bindu bindu vichaar; (xiv) Shakti se shanti; (xv) Rajneeti ki raptili raahein; (xvi) Decisive days; (xvii) Kuch lekh kuch bhashan; and (xviii) Na dainyam na palayanam
Literary, Artistic & Scientific Accomplishments
Editor, (i) Rashtra-Dharma (monthly); (ii) Panchajanya (weekly); and Swadesh and Veer Arjun, both dailies
Social And Cultural Activities
Member, National Integration Council since 1961; President, (i) All India Station Masters and Assistant Station Masters Association, 1965-70; (ii) Pandit Deendayal Upadhyaya Samarak Samiti, 1968-84; (iii) Deendayal Dham, Farah, Mathura, U.P.; (iv) Janmabhoomi Smarak Samiti, 1969 onwards and (v) Krishna Bihari Vajpayee Memorial Trust, Gwalior
Special Interests
International affairs; upliftment of the Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes; and women and child welfare; economic development
Favourite Pastime and Recreation
Reading, writing, travelling, cooking and watching movies
Countries Visited
Widely travelled; Member, (i) Parliamentary Goodwill Mission to East Africa, 1965; (ii) Parliamentary Delegations to Australia, 1967, European Parliament, 1983, and Canada, 1987; (iii) Indian Delegations to Commonwealth Parliamentary Association meetings held in Canada, 1966 and 1994, Zambia 1980, Isle of Man 1984; (iv) Indian Delegation to Inter-Parliamentary Union Conference, Japan, 1974, Sri Lanka, 1975, Switzerland, 1984; (v) Indian Delegation to the UN General Assembly, 1988, 1990, 1991, 1992, 1993, 1994 and 1996; and (vi) Indian Parliamentary Delegation to Bulgaria, 1997; Leader, Indian Delegation to Human Rights Commission Meeting, Geneva, 1993; and Delegation of Standing Committees of External Affairs to Gulf countries- Bahrain, Oman and Kuwait ; As Prime Minister travelled extetrsively across the globe, for various international conferences and goodwill visits notable among which are United Nations General Assembly Session, SARRC Summit, CHOGM Summit, Indo -EU Summit , ASEAN Summit NAM Summit, G-8 Border Dialogue and bilateral visits to many countries
Other Information
Participated in Freedom Struggle and went to jail in 1942; detained during Emergency in 1975-77; was awarded Padma Vibhushan by President of India in recognition of his services to the Nation; Conferred, (i)Honorary Doctorate of Philosophy by Kanpur University,1993; (ii) Lok Manya Tilak Puruskar, 1994; (iii) Bharat Ratna Pt. Govind Ballabh Pant Award for Best Parliamentarian, 1994

Developed and Hosted by National Informatics Centre (NIC)
Content on this website is published, managed & maintained by Software Unit, Computer (HW & SW) Management. Branch, Lok Sabha Secretariat