Tenth Lok sabha
Members Bioprofile


[Cong.(I) -Chikodi-SC (Karnataka)]

Father's Name

Date of Birth

Place of Birth

Marital Status

Spouse's Name


Educational Qualifications



Permanent Address

Present Address

Positions held













May, 1971 to March, 1977





Jan., 1980 to Oct., 1980


Dec, 1984 to Sept., 1985

Oct., 1980 to Oct., 1984

Nov., 1984 to Dec, 1984 1984

Sept., 1985 to Aug. 1987 and June, 1988 to July, 1989

26 Aug., 1986

June, 1988 to July, 1989


July, 1989 to Dec, 1989




25 Sept., 1990


23 June 1991

Social and Cultural Activities

Special Interests

Favourite Pastime and Recreation

Sports and Clubs

Countries visited





Other Information

Shri Babu Rao Talwar

19th October, 1925

Kanagali in Chikodi in Distt. Belgaum (Karnataka)

Married on 29th May, 1949

Smt. Kamala Devi

Two sons and six daughters

B.A., (Horn.), L.L.B.

Educated at Lingraj College, Belgaum, Siddharth College, Bombay, Govt. Law College, Bombay, R.L. Law College, Belgaum 

Lawyer and Agriculturist

Club Road, Belgaum (Karnataka) Tel. 55984841

8, Toes January Marg, New Delhi. Tel. 3015566, 3011307


Municipal Corporation, Belgaum

Elected to Lok Sabha (Fourth)

Member, Consultative Committee, Foreign Trade

Member, Consultative Committee, Mines and Metals

Member, AICC

General Secretary, C.P.P.

President, D.C.C. later DCC (I) Belgaum, Karnataka

Re-elected lo Lok Sabha (Fifth)

Member, Committee on Welfare of Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes

Member, Committee on Subordinate Legislation

Member, Business Advisory Committee

Member, Committee of Privileges

Union Deputy Minister, Parliamentary Affairs

Deputy Chief Whip, CPP(I)

Elected to Lok Sabha (Sixth) for the third time

Chief Whip, CPP(I)

Elected to Lok Sabha (Seventh) for the fourth time

Union Minister, Education, Health and Family Welfare

Member, Working Committee, AICC(I)

Union Minister, Irrigation and Power

Union Deputy Minister, Health and Family Welfare

Elected lo Lok Sabha (Eighth) for the fifth time

Union Minister, Water Resources

Chairman, Joint Parliamentary Committee on Bofors

Union Minister, Law and Justice

Elected to Lok Sabha (Ninth) for the sixth time

Union Minisiter, Law and Justice

Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Planning and Programme Implementation, Member, Consultative Committee constituted under the Punjab State Legislature (Delegation of Powers) Act, 1987, Jan. 29, 1990.


Member, Committee of Privileges

Elected to Lok Sabha (Tenth) for the seventh time

Union Minister, Petroleum and Natural Gas

Social development activities, establishment of educational institutions, cooperative banks and cooperative societies for SCs and weaker sections

Communal harmony, upliftment of weaker sections

Reading, art and cultural activities

Cricket and football

Widely travelled; Member, Delegation to UNCTAD, 1968 and to UN General Assembly, 1969; Leader, Delegation to UNESCO, Belgrade, 1980 Commonwealth Education Ministers Conference Colombo, 1981; Commonwealth Health Ministers Conference, Ottawa, 1983, WHO South East Asia Regional Health Ministers Conference, Jakarta 1981, Dhaka, 1982, Kathmandu, 1983 and Delhi 1984; Member, Delegation to World Health Assembly, Geneva, 1980-84; World Population Conference, Mexico; Member, Indo-Bangladesh Joint Rivers Commission, Dhaka, 1984, Prime Minister's Emissary at Palestinian Liberation Conference, Algiers, April 1987; leader, Parliamentary Delegation to Canada, June 1987; Member, Prime Minister's Delegation to China, December, 1988

Vice-Chairman, Municipal School Board, Belgaum
Founder, Jagriti Co-operative Bank, Belgaum, Dr. Ambedkar Medical College, Bangalore, Dr. Baba Saheb Ambedkar Memorial Foundation, New Delhi; President, Karnataka Depressed Class Welfare Society, Belgaum; Member, Governing Body of 'Vachan Mantapa' (an institute publishing Basava-Sahitya, literature on the sayings of Basaveshwar, the founder of Veera Shaivism) 1958-62; Member, Land Acquisition Review Committee, Government of India, 1968-69; Karnataka Boundary Consultative Committee of Mysore, 1968-69; Advisory Body of SC & ST, Government of Mysore, 1968-69; Regional Employment Committee, Mysore State, 1968-69; Cardamom Board, Railway Catering Committee and Coffee Board, Government of India; Director, Chikodi Cooperative Sugar Factory, Belgaum, 1969-70.