Biographical Sketch Member of Parliament 12th Lok Sabha

Father's Name       	Shri Gaya Prasad                        

Date of Birth       	13 May 1959

Place of Birth      	Sewarai, Distt. Ghazipur (Uttar Pradesh)          

Marital Status      	Married on 5 June 1980

Spouse's Name       	Smt. Chandrakanti Singh                 

Children            	Two sons and  two daughters

Educational Qualifications  

               	M.A., B.P.Ed.

               	Educated at Banaras Hindu University (B.H.U.), Varanasi
               	(Uttar Pradesh)


                Political and Social Worker

Permanent Address  

               	Vill. and P.O. Sewarai                     
               	Distt. Ghazipur-233001                  
               	(Uttar Pradesh)                         

               	Tel. (0548) 972237                                                    
               	Fax  (0548) 222700  
Present Address  

		B-1, M.S. Flats,
		B.K.S. Marg, 
		New Delhi-110001
		Tel. (011) 3719887

Positions Held  

1989-98		Member, Uttar Pradesh Legislative Assembly
                (four terms)

1996            Deputy Leader of Opposition, Uttar Pradesh
                Legislative Assembly

1998            Elected to 12th Lok Sabha

1998-99		Member, Committee on Commerce and its
		Sub-Committee on Textiles

		Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of

		Member, Railway Convention Committee

		Member, Committee to review the rate of dividend
		payable by the Railway Undertakings to General Revenues

Social and Cultural Activities  

Associated with Students' movement

Special Interests  

To take-up Constituency problems in Parliament

Sports and Clubs  

Volleyball - participated in Inter-University Competition,
1978-82; took part in Wrestling Championship, 1978-82 and
1980-81; and Captain, Kabaddi team, B.H.U. (National level)

Election Result of
Ghazipur Lok Sabha Constituency  

Total electorate 	12,82,460
Total votes polled 	 7,46,928 
Votes polled in favour of the first four leading candidates

(1) Shri Om Prakash 	(S.P.)   2,65,705
(2) Shri Manoj 		(B.J.P.) 2,48,532
(3) Shri Ram Janam 	(B.S.P.) 1,68,099
(4) Shri Jainulbashar 	(I.N.C.)   28,567