Biographical Sketch Member of Parliament XI LOK SABHA

Father's Name	:   	Late Thakur Sardar Singhji

Date of Birth	:   	3 January 1938

Place of Birth	:   	Jasol in Distt. Barmer (Rajasthan)

Marital Status	:   	Married on 30 June 1963

Spouse's Name	:   	Smt. Sheetal Kumari

Children	:   	Two sons

Educational Qualifications :
	B.A., B.Sc.
	Educated at Mayo College, Ajmer; Joint Services Wing, Clement Town, 
	Dehradun;  N.D.A.,  Khadakvasla  and  Indian  Military  College, 
	Premnagar Dehradun (Uttar Pradesh)

Profession :
   	Agriculture and Writing

Permanent Address :
   	Jasol House, Paota Area, Jodhpur-342001 (Rajasthan)

Positions Held :
1980		Elected to Rajya Sabha
1980-89		Member, Committee of Privileges
		Member, Committee of Public Undertakings
		Member, Public Accounts Committee
1986		Re-elected to Rajya Sabha*
1989		Elected to Lok Sabha (Ninth)
Dec. 1989-	Member, Panel of Chairmen, Lok Sabha
May 1991
May 1990-91	Chairman, Estimates Committee
Jan. 1990-92	Member, Consultative Committee constituted under the Punjab 
		State Legislature (Delegation of Power) Act, 1987
Jan. 1990-96	Member, General Purposes Committee
1991		Re-elected to Lok Sabha (Tenth)
1991 onwards	Deputy Leader, B.J.P. in Parliament
Dec. 1991-92	Chairman, Standing Committee on Environment and Forests
1991-1994	Member, Business Advisory Committee
1993-96		Chairman, Standing Committee on Energy
1996		Elected to Lok Sabha (Eleventh) for the third time
May 16-		Union Minister of Finance, Government of India
June 1996

Books Published	:
   	"Outline of India's Security concerns" 1995

Literary, Artistic and Scientific Accomplishments :
   	Contributed articles in Indian and foreign journals current 
	political developments; Languages known- Hindi, Gujarati, English 
	and French

Special Interests :
   	Defence, foreign policy, international relations, ecology, 
	environment and energy

Favourite Pastime and Recreation :
	Bibliophile,  antiquarian,  historiography;  music, horses 
	and  travel

Sports and Clubs :
   	Equestrian sports, chess, golf; Member (i) Indian Golf Union; 
	(ii) Indian Polo Association; (iii) Equestrian Federation  of 
	India, Delhi; (iv) Polo Club; and  (v)  Sardar Club,  Jodhpur

Countries Visited :
   	Widely travelled

Other Information :
   	Member (i) Defence Services Institute; (ii) Institute of Defence 
	and Strategic Studies; (iii) International Institute of Strategic 
	Studies, London;  (iv)  India  International  Centre,  New Delhi; 
	(v) Inter-Parliamentary   Union,   (I.P.U.)   (vi)  Institute  of 
	Commonwealth  Studies  (London);  and  (vii) Executive Committee, 
	I.P.U.,   1996   onwards;   Alumni   of   Georgetown   University 
	(Leadership programme)

Election Result :
Chittorgarh Lok Sabha constituency
Total electorate	12,36,357
Total votes polled	 4,69,227
Votes polled in favour of the
first four leading candidates:
(1) Shri Jaswant Singh (B.J.P.)		2,40,840
(2) Shri Gulab Singh Shakawat (I.N.C.)	1,92,997
(3) Ms. Nirmala Kumari [A.I.I.C. (T)]	   6,516
(4) Shri Narayan Lal Kumhar (Ind.)	   4,443