Third Lok Sabha
Members Bioprofile

DAS, SHRI BASANTA KUMAR, Cong., (West Bengal—Contai—1962):  S. of late Shri Indra Narayan Das; B. Village Ramchan, Distt. Midnapur, 1898; ed. at Presidency College, Calcutta; m. Shrimati Tarangini Das, 1918; 5 S. and 1 D.; Agriculturist; Member of one of the revolutionary parties of Bengal in, student life; joined Congress in 1921; Suffered imprisonment in 1916, 1921, 1930, 1932, 1934 and 1942; Secretary, Midnapur D.C.C.; Asstt. Secretary, Bengal P.C.C.; Secretary, Central Council for Civil Disobedience, Bengal; Member, Indian Central Jute Committee; Chairman, Rehabilitation Finance Administration Advisory Board; leader, Agricultural Delegation to U.S.S.R., 1956; Member, Constituent Assembly, Provisional Parliament, 1950—52, and First Lok Sabha, 1952—57; M.L.C., West Bengal, 1958—62.

Social activities:  President, Seva Sangh, Contai, Subhas-Silpa-Bharati, Shree-Bharati and Ayurveda Sewak Sangh; President and Secretary of several educational institutions.

Special interest:  Educational and other constructive activities.

Travels abroad:  U.S.S.R., Denmark, U.K., France, Switzerland and Italy.

Permanent address:  P.O. Contai, Distt. Midnapur, West Bengal.

[Voting results at the Election:

Electorate: 5,13,853

Shri B. K. Das                               . .                        1,87,548

Shri P. C. Ghose                           . .                        1,02,140

Shri Pulin Sen                               . .                           33,345].